Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Wales ready for the European Championship - so the road to the championship continues


When Wales beat Hungary 2-0, the team became the last to go to the European Championships 2020 via the European Championship qualifier. 20 nations, of which Sweden is one, are ready, but four more will be washed out via a playoff in March next year. This is how the European Championship 2020 works.

One and two in each qualifying group have reached the European Championships and there are the following 20 teams:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • England
  • Finland
  • France
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Switzerland
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Czech Republic
  • Turkey
  • Germany
  • Ukraine
  • Wales
  • Austria

In addition, four teams will go to the European Championships, which are played in twelve different countries. This is decided via a playoff based on how things went in the Nations League 2018-2019.

There, 16 teams are divided into four groups that make up the semi-finals and final. The winner in each group plays the European Championship 2020.

Group A: Iceland and three of Bulgaria, Hungary, Israel and Romania.

Group B: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia, Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Group C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia and one of Bulgaria, Hungary, Israel and Romania.

Group D: Georgia, Northern Macedonia, Kosovo and Belarus.

Which team will fall into Group A and which will fall into Group C will be decided by a draw in Nyon, Switzerland on Friday. The playoff will be played at the end of March 2020.

This is how the European Championship draw works

Although all European teams will not be ready until March next year, the teams are already drawing lots on November 30 in Bucharest, Romania. Then six groups of four teams will each be drawn. All host nations that have qualified may play in "their own group" and this affects the draw.

Ahead of the draw, the teams are divided into four seed groups and some teams already know which team they should play because they are host nations.

Seed Group 1: Belgium, Italy, England, Germany, Spain, Ukraine

Seed Group 2: France, Poland, Switzerland, Croatia, Netherlands, Russia

Seed Group 3: Portugal, Turkey, Denmark, Austria, Sweden, Czech Republic

Seed Group 4: Wales, Finland and the four playoff winners.

Noteworthy is that the world champions France are in seed group 2 and the reigning European champions Portugal in seed group 3.

It should also be mentioned that four host countries play the playoffs (Ireland, Scotland, Hungary and Romania) and if any of them go to the championship they should also be allowed to play their group games at home and then you may have to redo the draw.

The EM teams they look like right now:

Group A: Italy (host nation) and teams from seed groups 2, 3 and 4.

Group B: Belgium (the only group they can be drawn into), Russia (host nation), Denmark (host nation) and a team from seed group 4.

Group C: Ukraine (unable to meet Russia and then the only group remaining), the Netherlands (host nation) and teams from seed groups 3 and 4.

Group D: England (host nation) and teams from seed groups 2, 3 and 4.

Group E: Spain (host nation) and teams from seeding groups 2 and 3 and the winners of playoff group B.

Group F: Germany (host nation) and teams from seed groups 2, 3 and 4.

Source: svt

You may like

Trends 24h

Sports 2020-01-26T22:49:27.572Z


sports 2020/01/27    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy