Former and current Barcelona players who will join in the future have an additional reason to thank Argentine star Lionel Messi and his historic goal because he inspired former club president Juan Laporta to give every player who won a European title a lifetime salary.

More than 290 players have won 12 European titles, including five in the Champions League.

Spain's Juan Carlos Heredia, winner of the 1979 European Cup Winners' Cup along with Johan Cruyff, was revealed as one of the players receiving the salary and explained who inspired the Barça administration.

"After Barcelona won the Champions League in 2009 after beating Manchester United 2-0 without Samuel Eto'o and Lionel Messi, the president announced that all the players who won and would win any European title would be paid a lifetime salary," says Heredia.

Since then Barça have won two Champions League titles in 2011 and 2015.

Laporta, a former Spanish politician, served as president of the club between 2003 and 2010 and witnessed the historic achievement of a team led by Spanish coach Pep Guardiola, who won the tournament in 2009.

Barca fans hope that the current team will win the sixth Champions League title and join the players who earn a lifetime salary.