Toro Rosso will most likely change its name to Alpha Tauri from 2020, confirms Red Bull CEO Helmut Marko. The sister team of Red Bull Racing has been operating in Formula 1 under the name Toro Rosso since 2006.

"We have permission from the FIA ​​and Liberty Media," Marko tells Speedweek on Saturday. "If all teams approve the new name, it's official, I don't expect any problem with that."

Alpha Tauri is a fashion brand from Red Bull founded in 2016. With the new team name, the multinational wants to increase awareness of it. Toro Rosso is the literal Italian translation of Red Bull.

Toro Rosso has participated in 262 Grand Prix in Formula 1 history and recorded his only win in 2008 in Italy with Sebastian Vettel. This year, Daniil Kvyat gave the team the second podium place in history by becoming third in Germany.


Preview F1: "Unclear what actual speed Verstappen is"

Verstappen youngest F1 debutant ever on behalf of Toro Rosso

Many young drivers broke through in the past through Toro Rosso. On behalf of the Italian racing team, Max Verstappen became the youngest ever racer in Formula 1 in 2016 at the age of seventeen.

Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Carlos Sainz, Alexander Albon, Pierre Gasly and Daniil Kvyat also made their debut with Toro Rosso in the motorsport royal class of the current grid.

With 55 points, Toro Rosso is currently sixth in the World Cup stand for constructors, behind Mercedes, Ferrari, Red Bull, McLaren and Renault.

See also: Five questions about GP Russia: 'Stage location will be difficult for Verstappen'