The Dutch can go on holiday again to the Balearic Islands and the Canary Islands from Saturday.

Jan Versteeg, the Dutch ambassador in Spain, reports this on Twitter on Friday.

Travelers do not have to hand over a negative test statement on their return to the Netherlands, nor do they have to be quarantined.

The travel advisories of these countries are also likely to be relaxed:

  • Aruba

  • Bonaire

  • Curacao

  • Ireland

  • Malta

  • Iceland

  • Portugal, including Madeira and the Azores

  • Greek Islands (North / South Aegean and Ionian Islands)

  • More countries may follow.

    The Ministry of Foreign Affairs will publish all relaxed travel advice tonight.

"I am pleased to announce that from tomorrow Dutch tourists will be able to travel to the Balearic and Canary Islands again," said Versteeg.

The Spanish mainland will probably remain designated as a risk area for the time being.

According to Versteeg, the travel advice to the Spanish islands will be changed from orange to yellow.

This means that holidays are possible again, but measures have been taken in the area against the corona virus that have a limited impact on daily life.

For example, Dutch people who travel to Spain or the Spanish islands must submit a negative test result upon arrival.

The official travel advice to the Spanish islands already states that these measures will expire upon return to the Netherlands.

The same easing was implemented on Thursday morning for Aruba, Ireland, Malta, Madeira and the Greek islands, making vacations to those areas likely again from Saturday.

The countries are currently still marked with 'orange', which means they have been designated as high-risk areas. The color codes are changed on the night from Friday to Saturday. Then the Ministry of Foreign Affairs will publish the full list of countries to which the Dutch can go on holiday again.