Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Background: The Nobel Peace Prize winners of the past ten years


TIME ONLINE | News, backgrounds and debates

Oslo (AP) - The Nobel Peace Prize was first awarded in 1901. Particularly controversial was the award ceremony to the then US President Barack Obama in 2009. The award winners since then:

2018: Denis Mukwege (Congo) and Nadia Murad (Iraq) for their use against sexual violence as a weapon in wars and armed conflicts.

2017: The International Atomic Disarmament Campaign (Ican) for its efforts to focus attention on the catastrophic consequences of the use of nuclear weapons, as well as their pioneering efforts to achieve a treaty-based nuclear weapons ban.

2016: Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos for his determined efforts to end the more than 50-year civil war in the South American country.

2015: The quartet for the national dialogue in Tunisia for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia after the so-called Jasmine Revolution 2011.

2014: Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) and Kailash Satyarthi (India) for their fight against the oppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

2013: Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) for use against the worldwide outlawed weapons of mass destruction.

2012: European Union (EU) for more than six decades of its contribution to peace, democracy and human rights in Europe.

2011: Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee (both Liberians) and Tawakkul Karman (Yemen) for the nonviolent struggle to strengthen women's rights.

2010: Liu Xiaobo (China) for his long and non-violent human rights work in his homeland.

2009: US President Barack Obama for his commitment to strengthening international diplomacy and cooperation among peoples.

All Nobel Peace Prize winners

Source: zeit

Similar news:

You may like

Life/Entertain 2019-10-11T08:49:26.267Z
News/Politics 2019-10-09T16:43:13.550Z
Life/Entertain 2019-10-06T22:34:06.145Z

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2020-01-19T10:52:00.667Z
News/Politics 2020-01-19T16:04:18.444Z


news 2020/01/20    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy