Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Award: Nobel Prize for Literature for Peter Handke and Olga Tokarczuk


TIME ONLINE | News, backgrounds and debates

Stockholm (dpa) - The Nobel Prize for Literature for the year 2019 goes to the Austrian writer Peter Handke. At the same time, the Polish writer Olga Tokarczuk receives the belated Nobel Prize for Literature for the year 2018. This was announced by the Swedish Academy on Thursday in Stockholm.

Both prizes are endowed with nine million Swedish kroner each (around 830,000 euros). Like the other Nobel Prizes, they will be awarded on December 10, the day of the death of prize-winner Alfred Nobel. Most recently, the 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded to Japanese-born British Kazuo Ishiguro.

Last year, the award was canceled due to a scandal at the Swedish Academy and postponed to this year. The institution had plunged into a deep crisis after several women accused Jean-Claude Arnault's husband, Jean-Claude Arnault, of the now-defunct Academician Katarina Frostenson, of sexual assault and harassment. Against Frostenson and Arnault there were also allegations that the Nobel Prize winners have previously blabbered against the strict Nobel statutes.

Each year, the Academy's Nobel Committee receives nearly 200 nominations for the prestigious award. According to its chairman Anders Olsson, the committee named a narrower group of eight candidates by summer, from which the winners were finally selected for 2018 and 2019.

Source: zeit

Similar news:

You may like

Life/Entertain 2019-10-10T18:40:31.168Z
Life/Entertain 2019-10-10T11:16:08.350Z

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2020-02-21T03:34:55.303Z
News/Politics 2020-02-20T14:37:41.878Z
News/Politics 2020-02-21T05:09:01.602Z


news 2020/02/21    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy