The television program

Beste Zangers

is the winner of the Pop Media Prize 2020. That was announced on Saturday during the digital edition of the Eurosonic Noorderslag music festival.

The other nominees for the prize were the three-part documentary

Famke Next

about singer Famke Louise and

XTC - Een Biography

, written by journalists Philippus Zandstra and Wietse Pottjewijd.

A sum of 3,000 euros is associated with the Pop Media Prize.

"The special thing about

Beste Zangers

is that it breaks with the unwritten law that pop music on Dutch TV is only possible if there is a competition formula attached to it, if it is allowed to be hosted or if it appeals to nostalgia", the jury motivates its choice for the program. .

The Pop Media Prize has been awarded annually since 1995 to a person, book, documentary or program that has made the most important contribution to pop journalism.