The battle for the Eurovision Song Contest win will take place between 41 countries in 2021.

The Rotterdam edition has been moved by one year and all participating countries from 2020 have also registered for 2021.

35 countries will compete against each other in the semi-finals on May 18 and 20 to secure a place in the final on May 22.

The other six countries are automatically qualified for the final: the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Spain, France, Germany and Italy.

The Netherlands has automatically qualified for the final due to Duncan Laurence's win in Israel in 2019. The other five countries are called the 'Big Five': they pay more money to the European Broadcasting Union and thus have a guaranteed place in the final.

What the Eurovision Song Contest will look like in 2021 is still unclear due to the corona crisis.

The organization has four scenarios and will determine which option is the best in early 2021.

Jeangu Macrooy will also participate on behalf of the Netherlands in 2021.

However, his number


will not compete: the organization has decided that all numbers that were registered for the competition in 2020, may no longer be used in 2021.

A draw will be used to decide in which semi-finals the different countries will perform.

The presentation of the Eurovision Song Contest is in the hands of Jan Smit, Chantal Janzen, Edsilia Rombley and Nikkie de Jager.

The possible scenarios for the Eurovision Song Contest in 2021

  • Scenario A: All artists come to the Netherlands, the hall is full of audience and visitors do not have to keep their distance

  • Scenario B: All artists come to the Netherlands, but 1.5 meters in the audience must be taken into account.

    This means less space in the room, but also for the press and delegations

  • Scenario C: Not all artists can come to the Netherlands, participants can perform from their own country

  • Scenario D: All artists perform from their own country