WhatsApp launches into the snapshot.

The messaging application has just launched a new function, directly inspired by the Snapchat social network.

Indeed, it is now possible on WhatsApp to send photos or videos "single view", reports

BFM TV

, this Wednesday.

Thus, as is the case on Snapchat, this content automatically disappears after it has been read by the recipient.

On its blog, the messaging service explains that it offers this new function to allow a user to have "more control over their privacy".

New feature alert!



You can now send photos and videos that disappear after they've been opened via View Once on WhatsApp, giving you more control over your chats privacy!

pic.twitter.com/Ig5BWbX1Ow

- WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) August 3, 2021

Ability to flag single-view content

To send single-use content, you must first download the latest application update.

After selecting a photo or video to send, you must then select option 1 in the text box.

The option being inactive by default, it is necessary to redo this manipulation at each sending.

In addition, the messaging service explained that a recipient can take a screenshot of the single-view content, without a notification being sent to the sender.

“Only send photos or videos for which the single view option is enabled to trusted people,” WhatsApp recalled.

It is also possible to flag single-view content.

“Encrypted media can be stored for a few weeks on WhatsApp's servers after you send them,” the messaging service added.

But a file sent for single use will not be saved in the recipient's camera roll.

If one of them does not view content after 14 days, the file will then be deleted, says the application.

High-Tech

WhatsApp chats can soon be transferred from iPhone to Android smartphone

Justice

Seine-Saint-Denis: A juicy traffic of fake health passes on Snapchat dismantled in Villepinte

  • WhatsApp

  • Snapchat

  • High-Tech

  • Social networks

Keywords: