• Tricks All the ways Google spies on you (and how to avoid it)

  • Google technology changes the way you log in to Gmail: your password will no longer be enough

The

history of internet browsing

is the contemporary equivalent of the secrecy of confession. There, in front of the screen, users ask and Google things that they do not want or would not dare to confess in public. Morbid issues, hidden desires or

delicate matters

that, although they belong to the most private sphere of a person, can be easily revealed by any friend or coworker who reaches out to his computer for a few seconds

without there being any security measure

that I could avoid it. At least until now.

As of today, as reported by the Internet giant, Google offers an additional layer of security that allows you to protect all the information stored in the "My Activity" section with a password. This includes the searches carried out, the

history of the web pages visited

and the

history of videos on YouTube

that our computer (or mobile or tablet), our browser and our Google account have been collecting.

With this new change, users can request that all this information contained in the "My Activity" section

be protected with a password

, regardless of whether they try to access it from a desktop computer, from a laptop or from a mobile or tablet regardless of whether you use an Android or IOS operating system.

How to protect my browsing history with a password

To protect your browsing history with a password, the first thing you should do is access the

"My Activity on Google" section

.

You can do it through this link.

Once there, you must select the option "

Manage verification of My Activity"

.

Next, a pop-up window will open that will show us two options.

If we want there to be an additional layer of password protection, we must select the

"need additional verification"

option

, the first one that appears.

From that moment on, Google will ask us for our password again.

You won't have to set up a new one.

You will simply have to enter the one you use to access

your Gmail email

or any other Google service.

After you have entered your password successfully, the Google tab will reload and

three sections

will appear

that you can configure individually

if you want to have to enter the password again to access them:

Activity on the Web and applications

: Your search history, the pages you have accessed and information about applications and devices associated with your Google account or devices.

Location History

: the history of the sites you have visited with your mobile "even if you are not using any specific Google service".

YouTube history

: the searches and videos that you have done on YouTube and that the platform uses as a starting point to recommend content to you.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

  • Google

  • Youtube

  • Android

VideoThe invention of YouTube so you don't run out of mobile data

This is the new WhatsApp tool to import chats

Google Photos is no longer free: here are 7 free alternatives

See links of interest

  • Holidays 2021

  • Home THE WORLD TODAY

Keywords: