Michael van Gerwen suffered a painful defeat in the Premier League Darts on Thursday.

De Brabander lost 3-7 to Jonny Clayton during the eighth round in Milton Keynes, England.

Van Gerwen never came close to a result against his fear giver.

He was immediately put 0-3 behind and then he was unable to make the gap smaller than two legs.

Remarkably enough, Van Gerwen threw his fifth lowest average ever in the Premier League with 91.01 points.

On Wednesday he still impressed with 104.72 during his 7-4 victory over José de Sousa.

Van Gerwen dropped from second to third place due to the zeperd against Clayton.

He is two points behind leader Nathan Aspinall, who was 7-2 too strong for Gary Anderson.

Defending champion Durrant remains winless

On Thursday, the last round of play was completed in the first phase.

Defending champions Glen Durrant and Rob Cross had already been relegated.

Cross won the head-to-head on Thursday and kept Durrant winless.

Later on Thursday, De Sousa-Peter Wright and Dimitri Van den Bergh-James Wade will be on the program.

Van den Bergh takes back the lead from Aspinall in a victory.

Van Gerwen is chasing his sixth title in the Premier League, equaling the record of darts legend Phil Taylor. He won the trophy in 2013 and from 2016 to 2019, but did not make the play-offs for the first time last year.