Gerwyn Price can not only become world champion darts for the first time on Sunday, but he will also take over the number one position in the world ranking from Michael van Gerwen in a victory in the final against Gary Anderson.

De Brabander has been in the lead for seven years.

Should Price lose to Anderson, Van Gerwen remains number one on the so-called PDC Order of Merit, which is based on the prize money earned over a period of two years.

The position of the three-time world champion is at stake with his quarter-finals elimination, in which he suffered a painful 0-5 defeat to Dave Chisnall.

Prior to this World Cup, Van Gerwen defended a lead of 500,000 British pounds (563,000 euros) over Peter Wright, the number two in the world, and more than 650,000 pounds (732,000 euros) over Price.

Wright had to perform at least the same as Van Gerwen to qualify for the number one position, but he was surprised by Gabriel Clemens in the third round.

Two years ago, Van Gerwen became world champion, which means that he now loses a lot of prize money on the Order of Merit, while Price did not get further than the second round in 2019 and makes a lot of profit.

He earns £ 500,000 by conquering the world title.

If he loses the final, he will receive 200,000 British pounds (225,000 euros) and remain the global number three.

Current Order of Merit state

  • 1. Michael van Gerwen (Ned) 1,494,750 lbs

  • 2. Peter Wright (Sch) 1,011,000 lbs

  • 3. Gerwyn Price (Wal) £ 832,500

  • 4. Michael Smith (Eng) 601,750 lbs

  • 5. Rob Cross (Eng) 536,000 lbs

  • 6. Nathan Aspinall (Eng) 532,750 lbs

  • 7. James Wade (Eng) 442,500 lbs

  • 8. Dave Chisnall (Eng) 390,750

  • 9. Dimitri Van den Bergh (Bel) 377,750

  • 10. Ian White (Eng) 358,500 lbs

Anderson enters top ten

Anderson rises from thirteenth to eighth place anyway.

The two-time world champion passes Glen Durrant, Ian White, Daryl Gurney, Dimitri Van den Bergh and Michael Smith.

In taking his third world title, he even climbs to fourth place at the expense of James Wade, Chisnall, Nathan Aspinall and Rob Cross.

Van Gerwen has been number one in the world since 1 January 2014.

The three-time world champion took over that position at the time thanks to his first world title from Phil Taylor.

In October 2019, he broke the record of the legendary former darter, who became world champion sixteen times, by leading the rankings for 69 months in a row.

Photo series: Last 15 winners of the World Championship darts

In 2006 Phil Taylor won the title.

He crushed Peter Manley 7-0.

© Pro Shots

Raymond van Barneveld won his first world title with the PDC in 2007.


In 2008 John Part became PDC world champion for the second time.

He defeated Kick Shepherd 7-2 © ANP

In 2009 Phil Taylor won the title again.

This time he beat Raymond van Barneveld in the final.


In 2010 Phil Taylor became champion again.

He is celebrating his fifteenth title here.

Adrian Lewis celebrates the 2011 title, beating Gary Anderson 7-5.


In 2012 Lewis wins his second title.

He defeated Andy Hamilton 7-3 © ANP

In 2013 Phil Taylor and Michel van Gerwen meet for the first time.

The Briton beats the Dutchman 7-4.


In 2014 Michel van Gerwen can finally call himself world champion, he beats Peter Wright 7-4 © ANP

Gary Anderson joins the top in 2015.

The Scot beats Phil Taylor in the final battle: 7-6.

© Hollandse Hoogte

Anderson continues his title in 2016.

© Getty Images

In 2017 Van Gerwen won for the second time.


Debutant Rob Cross humiliated the waving record champion Phil Taylor in the final of 2018 © ANP

In 2019 Michael van Gerwen beats Michael Smith in the final.


Peter Wright takes his first world title in 2020.


Not an outspoken favorite in the final

Price could become the first Welsh player to become PDC World Champion.

His fellow countrymen Leighton Rees, Richie Burnett, Mark Webster and Wayne Warren have already joined the BDO once.

Price is the first Welshman to reach the final of the PDC World Cup.

Anderson joins a special list for his third world title.

The Scot then comes on a par with Van Gerwen, John Lowe, John Part, Durrant and Martin Adams.

He has one more than his illustrious countryman Jocky Wilson and only has to put up with Taylor, Raymond van Barneveld and Eric Bristow (both five).

Based on the statistics at this World Cup, there is no clear favorite in the final between Price and Anderson.

Price scored a slightly higher average (97.95 at 97.41 points per three arrows) and a better double percentage (43.85 at 39.36) in the five previous rounds, but that should have no name.

Price also threw more 180ers than Anderson (42 at 33), has the highest finish (170 at 161) and won more legs (82 at 74).

On the other hand, he lost more legs (64 to 46) than his coming opponent and took him longer to qualify for the final (5:02:55 am at 4:21:40 pm).

Price secured his first World Cup final with victories over Jamie Lewis (3-2), Brendan Dolan (4-3), Mervyn King (4-1), Daryl Gurney (5-4) and Stephen Bunting (6-4) ).

Anderson reached his fifth World Cup final thanks to victories over Madars Razma (3-1), Mensur Suljovic (4-3), Devon Petersen (4-0), Dirk van Duijvenbode (5-1) and Chisnall (6-3).

See also: No Dutch in the final World Cup darts: view program and all results