Facebook illustration. - Jenny Kane / AP / SIPA
Facebook announced on Tuesday the arrival of a function allowing users to permanently or not remove messages from their page on the social network. Called "Manage Activity", the device is intended to "make it easier to present your presence on Facebook, which better reflects the person you are today", indicates the company in a communicated on its website.
Publications that have become spam can thus be deleted. They will then remain in the trash for 30 days before being erased forever, which gives internet users the possibility to change their mind. It is also possible to archive posts, i.e. to make them invisible on the wall but to keep them anyway. These messages can be accessed and viewed at any time by the user who has chosen to set them aside.
Delete multiple posts with one click
"Manage Activity" will be deployed from this Tuesday and will first be available on the iOS and Android versions of the Facebook Lite and Facebook apps. The functionality will then appear on the declination for the social network web.
To help users find and select the posts they want to get rid of, Facebook has created tools available within the feature. The latter offers for example to search for posts containing specific keywords or to select several messages which can be deleted or archived with a single click.
"Whether you enter the workforce at the end of your studies or turn the page on an old relationship, we know that people's lives are full of changes," says Facebook about the functionality that many users claimed.
By the Web
AllSocial, the new app that wants to reconnect with the raison d'être of social networks
A Youtuber separates from her autistic child adopted three years ago and arouses outrage
- Social media