Michael van Gerwen won the World Grand Prix for the fifth time in his career in Dublin on Saturday. De Brabander settled in the final with the Englishman Dave Chisnall: 5-2.

Thirty-year-old Van Gerwen had an excellent start to the final and did not give his opponent any leg in the opening set. Chisnall offered a lot more resistance in the second act and pulled the score right through a finish of 101.

In the next two sets 'Chizzy' also made it difficult for Van Gerwen, but both went to the Dutchman. Thanks to a finish of 111 he came in 2-1 and he also decided the fourth company in the fifth leg.

In the fifth set it went a lot easier for Van Gerwen, but then Chisnall fought back to 4-2. In the seventh company the world champion still put things in order.

Van Gerwen successfully defends title

Van Gerwen extended his title and also wrote the World Grand Prix in 2012, 2014 and 2016. With his new overall victory, he earned a check of 110,000 British pounds (equivalent to more than 126,000 euros).

Earlier this year, world number three became world champion for the third time and won the Premier League and The Masters, both for the fifth time.

The World Grand Prix differs from other events because the darters must start and end each leg with a double.

After the World Grand Prix, the Champions League of Darts, the European Championship, the World Series Finals, the Grand Slam of Darts and the Players Championship Finals are still on the program before the World Cup is completed in December.