Zoom Image

Germany coach Hansi Flick


Sven Hoppe / dpa

Without Niklas Süle, Serge Gnabry, Mario Götze and Thomas Müller, but with numerous returnees such as Antonio Rüdiger, Leroy Sané and Jamal Musiala, Hansi Flick will play the international treble before the summer break. The national coach called up 26 players to the squad of the German national football team on Friday.

After a break in March, Ilkay Gündoğan, Julian Brandt, Jonas Hofmann and the two Leipzig players Lukas Klostermann and Benjamin Henrichs are also back in the squad.

Inter Milan's Robin Gosens is also making his comeback in the DFB circle, but like Manchester City captain Gundogan, he will arrive late due to the Champions League final on 10 June. Goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen and defender Thilo Kehrer will also be absent from the team meeting in Frankfurt on 7 June due to club commitments.

After major experiments, Flick will change his personnel course again in March towards the home European Championship in 2024. Players without international appearances are not in the squad, with the exception of Malick Thiaw of AC Milan. However, unlike attacker Kevin Schade, the young central defender will not travel to the U12s' European Championship preparations after the first game against Ukraine in Bremen on 21 June.

Flick's clear indication is that BVB defender Süle, who was not invited as in March, was once again not considered. His club colleague Marco Reus no longer plays a role with the national coach.

DFB team meets Ukraine in 1000th international match

Eintracht Frankfurt's Mario Götze was not considered again after his World Cup comeback and a part-time assignment in March. Serge Gnabry will be given a break this time. The Bayern attacker was also not mentioned by name in the DFB statement. The renewed time-out of Bayern veteran Müller for the June games had already been agreed in the spring and communicated by Flick.

After the 1000th international match in their history against Ukraine, the DFB team will face Poland in Warsaw four days later. The last international match of the season will take place on 16 June in Gelsenkirchen against Colombia. At the start of the year, the national team had won 2-0 against Peru in March and lost 2-3 to Belgium.

Flick will have to do without long-time captain Manuel Neuer. Mergim Berisha and youngsters Armel Bella Kotchap and Felix Nmecha are also unavailable due to injuries.

The German squad at a glance:

Gate: Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt), Bernd Leno (FC Fulham)

Defence: Matthias Ginter (SC Freiburg), Robin Gosens (Inter Milan), Benjamin Henrichs (RB Leipzig), Thilo Kehrer (West Ham United), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), David Raum (RB Leipzig), Antonio Rüdiger (Real Madrid), Nico Schlotterbeck (Borussia Dortmund), Malick Thiaw (AC Milan), Marius Wolf (Borussia Dortmund)

Midfield/Attack: Julian Brandt (Borussia Dortmund), Emre Can (Borussia Dortmund), Niclas Füllkrug (Werder Bremen), Leon Goretzka (Bayern Munich), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City), Kai Havertz (Chelsea), Jonas Hofmann (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Leroy Sane (Bayern Munich), Kevin Schade (Brentford), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)