Zoom Image

Bayern's players celebrate the 2-0 win through Lea Schüller

Photo: IMAGO/Sven Leifer / IMAGO/foto2press

FC Bayern Munich has secured the championship double for the fourth time in the club's history. After the men, who watched one day after their triumph in Cologne (2-1), the women also achieved the necessary victory on the last matchday. With the 11-1 (7-0) gala over relegated Turbine Potsdam, the fifth championship after 1976, 2015, 2016 and 2021 was perfect.

Defending champions VfL Wolfsburg were of no use to their 2-1 (2-1) win against SC Freiburg. In the end, Bayern were two points ahead in the table and qualified directly for the group stage of the Champions League.

Saki Kumagai (4th), Lea Schüller (12th), an own goal by Anna Gerhardt (21st), Jovana Damjanovic (24th/30th), Georgia Stanway (32nd) and captain Lina Magull (37th) scored before the break against the bottom of the table. Carolin Simon (49th), Kumagai (52nd), Glodis Viggosdottir (75th) and Schüller (89th) completed the biggest win of the season for the team of Norwegian coach Alexander Straus. For Potsdam, captain Viktoria Schwalm (64th) was successful.

Germany coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg presented the trophy – much to the delight of Bayern president Herbert Hainer, who cheered alongside Uli Hoeness. The new CEO Jan-Christian Dreesen sat behind the two just as delighted.

Despite the success, the Munich women are facing a major upheaval. In addition to Kumagai, three other players were bid farewell. After 28 years, head of department Karin Danner is handing over her office to sports director Bianca Rech. Among others, Katharina Naschenweng will come from Hoffenheim, the Danish world-class player Pernille Harder and her Swedish partner Magdalena Eriksson will probably come from English double winners FC Chelsea.

In Wolfsburg, Ewa Pajor (8th) and Dominique Janssen (44th, foul penalty) scored for the cup winners led by top scorer Alexandra Popp in the new edition of the cup final. Judith Steinert (35') equalised in the meantime.