Will the RFI-France 24 Marc-Vivien Foé prize stay in Lens? The list of three finalists for this award, rewarding the best African player to have played in Ligue 1, for the 2023 edition, was unveiled late Friday, May 19. They are Ivorian midfielder Seko Fofana, the defending champion, Congolese defender Chancel Mbemba and Nigerian striker Terem Moffi.

Here is the portrait of the three finalists in alphabetical order:

Seko Fofana (Ivory Coast / Lens)

The Ivorian international and captain of RC Lens, Seko Fofana. © François Lo Presti, AFP

The titleholder is there to defend his property. Seko Fofana, captain and guide of RC Lens, managed another high-flying season in the image of his club, candidate for a qualification to the Champions League. Recuperator, passer, and scorer, the 27-year-old Ivorian is still decisive this season with the Blood and Gold. Enough to keep his crown and achieve the double?

Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo / Marseille)

Chancel Mbemba in the jersey of OM. © François Nascimbeni, AFP

In the demanding Marseille club, the Congolese from DR Congo did not hang around to put the fans in his pocket. Regular defender, eye-catching, technical, and scorer in addition, Chancel Mbemba is undoubtedly with the Chilean Alexis Sanchez, the best player of OM this season. At 28 years old, will he be the second Leopard (nickname given to the Democratic Republic of Congo team, Editor's note) crowned after Gaël Kakuta in 2021?

Terem Moffi (Nigeria / Nice)

Terem Moffi's magnificent bicycle facing Basel. © Stefan Vermuth, Reuters

Moved from Lorient to Nice during the season, the 23-year-old Super Eagle certainly needed some time to adapt, but did not lose his effectiveness in front of goal. Nice intends to make the Nigerian one of the heads of the gondola for its national and European ambitions; That's good, Moffi is ready to pass the big course.

NB: players who have worn the colors of an African national team and have played at least 15 matches in Ligue 1 this season are eligible for the Marc-Vivien Foé award.

The winners of previous editions:

2022: Seko Fofana (Ivory Coast)

2021: Gaël Kakuta (Democratic Republic of Congo)

2020: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

2019: Nicolas Pépé (Ivory Coast)

2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Cameroon)

2017: Jean Michaël Seri (Ivory Coast)

2016: Sofiane Boufal (Morocco)

2015: André Ayew (Ghana)

2014: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2012: Younès Belhanda (Morocco)

2011: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2010: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Morocco)

The summary of the week France 24 invites you to look back on the news that marked the week

I subscribe

Take international news with you everywhere! Download the France 24 app