The FIFA World Cup kicks off this Sunday in Qatar.

Thirty-two teams will compete.

Only one team will lift the trophy on December 18.

The first World Cup took place in 1930, in Uruguay.

In twenty editions, only eight countries have won the title.

Brazil, with five victories (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002) is the biggest winner.

It is the only one, with Italy, to have won two successive editions, in 1958 and 1962.

229 goals scored by Brazil

The Seleção has participated in all editions of the World Cup, from 1930 to 2022, to obtain such a record.

The team has won the most matches, 73, and has the highest win rate, 67%.

In total, she scored 229 goals, says RMC Sport.

On the podium, the second place is occupied by Italy and Germany, with four world titles each.

For Germany, it was in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014. The country also lost four finals, in 1966, 1982, 1986 and 2002. Italy won the World Cup in 1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006. For this last edition, the Squadra azzurra only conceded two goals, the lowest number with France in 1998 and Spain in 2010.

Home win

The third step of the podium is occupied by three countries: Argentina, France and Uruguay, with two victories each.

For Uruguay, the first victory is symbolic since it took place at home in 1930, during the first edition of the competition.

The second victory took place in 1950, the first post-war edition.

The Albiceleste's two victories came in 1978 and 1986.

The Blues won in 1998 and 2018. Didier Deschamps' men hope to do it again in Qatar.

Spain and the UK have each won the competition once, in 2010 and 1966 respectively.


2022 World Cup: Sadio Mané withdraws from the World Cup


2022 World Cup: "Regarding my role, everything is clear" ... Giroud shows his credentials before the start of the World Cup

  • World Cup 2022

  • Soccer

  • Awards

  • Sport