The traditional club AC Milan is champion in Serie A again for the first time in eleven years. Milan secured the title of the Italian football championship with a sovereign 3-0 (3-0) on the last day of the game at US Sassuolo.

Led by double goalscorer Olivier Giroud and three-time assist Rafael Leao, coach Stefano Pioli's team brought a splendid end to a strong season on Sunday and were no longer caught by Inter Milan.

The city rivals won the parallel game at home against Sampdoria Genoa 3-0 (0-0).

In the end, the defending champions had two points fewer than Milan.

Milan secured their 19th league title and drew level with Inter;

Record champion is Juventus Turin (36).

AC Milan last triumphed in Serie A in 2011.

missed the European Cup

In the stadium in Sassuolo, which was almost completely filled with Milan fans, AC Milan made the preliminary decision early on: Giroud scored twice (17th/32nd minute), Franck Kessie scored the third goal (36th).

Rafael Leao, one of the most exciting players of this Serie A season, prepared all three goals.

A header hit by substitute Zlatan Ibrahimovic in what was possibly his last professional game was disallowed after video evidence.

After the 2011 championship, Milan slipped into the mediocrity of Serie A and even missed out on the European Cup for three years.

Coach Pioli was the first to bring the red-blacks back into the Champions League and now to the top in Italy - the coach came close to being replaced by Ralf Rangnick in 2020.