Ryan Gravenberch, Jurriën Timber (both Ajax), Myron Boadu (AS Monaco), Brian Brobbey (RB Leipzig) and Mohamed Ihattaren (Sampdoria) still have a chance to win the Golden Boy Award, the prize for the greatest talent in Europe up to the age of 21.

The Italian


announced a shortlist with forty more contenders on Thursday.

The Italian medium has reduced the list from sixty to forty names.

Jayden Braaf (Manchester City) and Joshua Zirkzee (Anderlecht) among others dropped out in this round.

Ajax player Devyne Rensch was no longer a contender for the prize.

In addition to the five Dutch players, there are also PSV player Noni Madueke, Pedri (FC Barcelona), Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal) and Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) on the list.

The Golden Boy Award was won last year by Erling Haaland.

Because a player cannot win twice, the Norwegian from Borussia Dortmund is not among them this year.

The talent prize was won a total of twice by a Dutchman: Rafael van der Vaart in 2003 and Matthijs de Ligt in 2018.


will further narrow the list of contenders to twenty in October.

The winner is usually announced at the end of November.

All Golden Boy Award winners

  • 2003 - Rafael van der Vaart (Ajax)

  • 2004 - Wayne Rooney (Everton/Manchester United)

  • 2005 - Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona)

  • 2006 - Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)

  • 2007 - Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid)

  • 2008 - Anderson (Manchester United)

  • 2009 - Alexandre Pato (AC Milan)

  • 2010 - Mario Balotelli (Inter Milan/Manchester City)

  • 2011 - Mario Gotze (Borussia Dortmund)

  • 2012 - Isco (Malaga)

  • 2013 - Paul Pogba (Juventus)

  • 2014 - Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)

  • 2015 - Anthony Martial (AS Monaco/Manchester United)

  • 2016 - Renato Sanches (Benfica/Bayern Munich)

  • 2017 - Kylian Mbappe (AS Monaco/Paris Saint Germain)

  • 2018 - Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax)

  • 2019 - Joao Felix (Atletico Madrid)

  • 2020 - Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)