The German hockey men have missed their first European title since 2013.

They lost on Saturday in the final of the European Championship in Amsterdam against the Netherlands with 1: 4 in the penalty shootout.

Thijs van Dam made the decision as seventh shooter.

The Germans got off to a good start in the final and got their first big chance when Timur Oruz (8th minute) missed goalkeeper Pirmin Blaak while standing alone.

Subsequently, the guests failed several times on the Oranje goalkeeper.

This was only powerless in the second quarter against Martin Zwickers (21st) corner margin, but defender Jorrit Croon saved with the body on the line.

Christopher Rühr (21st) turned the seven-meter throw into a well-deserved opening goal.

The hosts equalized at the beginning of the third quarter when Lukas Windfeder unluckily deflected a shot from Robbert Kemperman (34th) into his own goal.

Germany doubted the execution of the previous free strike and took the video evidence, but got no right.

In the final section, Constantin Staib (56th) scored another lead into the Dutch pressure phase, but the hosts used the final penalty to make it 2-2 through Jip Janssen (60th). In the subsequent penalty shootout, all four Dutchmen scored, while only Florian Fuchs was successful for Germany. Rühr and Timm forgave Herzbruch.