Team DSM was the first of the 23 participating teams to announce its selection for the Giro d'Italia.

French Romain Bardet and Australian Jai Hindley will share the lead.

There are no Dutchmen in the eight-man team.

This means that Cees Bol, Nils Eekhoff, Martijn Tusveld, Joris Nieuwenhuis and Thymen Arensman will not go to Italy.

Hindley broke through in the Giro last year, where he finished second behind Briton Tao Geoghegan Hart and before his then teammate Wilco Kelderman, who now plays for BORA-hansgrohe.

Bardet switched from AG2R to the successor of Team Sunweb at the end of last season.

He skips all major French races this year and focuses on the Giro, the Olympic Games and the Vuelta.

For the sprints, DSM is betting on the fast German Max Kanter.

"To go for a good classification again, we have to use our collective strength in which all eight riders play a role," says sports director Matt Winston.

"For this we have formulated a plan based on numerous scenarios. In addition, we see opportunities for daytime success in the sprint stages."

The Giro d'Italia starts on May 8 with an individual time trial in Turin.

Three weeks later, the first big round of the year ends in Milan.

Selection Team DSM:

Bardet, Hindley, Arndt, Denz, Hamilton, Kanter, Roche, Storer.

πŸ—£ β€œYou're only supposed to ... ride a lap of Italy!” Team DSM - π™π™π™š π™„π™©π™–π™‘π™žπ™–π™£ 𝙅𝙀𝙗 🎬 #Giro!

Coming πŸ”œ to a screen near you πŸΏπŸ”—


Avatar Author TeamDSMMoment of places 09: 04 - April 14, 2021