Although Gary Anderson impressed on Friday with his 5-1 victory over Dirk van Duijvenbode in the quarter-finals of the World Cup darts, he remains modest.

The two-time world champion is not yet working on a possible third title.

"It was perhaps my best game in two years. I especially like to play darts. I've gotten better. In the last few years it was nothing", Anderson said after his victory over Van Duijvenbode.

"I watch it game by game. I came here without self-confidence and I am still not one hundred percent, but it is getting better. I will be back and slowly knock on the door again."

The fifty-year-old Scot has indeed had lesser years, partly due to physical discomfort, but seems to have regained his old form.

His World Cup victory over Mensur Suljovic in particular - he was angry because of the Austrian's slow pace, among other things - seems to have triggered something in him.

"I have to thank a number of players for rekindling the fire in me," said Anderson, without naming any names.

"It has been said that I throw better the angrier I get and I think they have made me angry now."

Anderson will get the chance to reach the final of the PDC World Cup for the fourth time against Dave Chisnall, who swept the floor on Friday with Michael van Gerwen.

Earlier in the evening, Stephen Bunting-Gerwyn Price is the other semi-final party.

Photo series: Last 15 winners of the World Championship darts

In 2006 Phil Taylor won the title.

He crushed Peter Manley 7-0.

© Pro Shots

Raymond van Barneveld won his first world title with the PDC in 2007.


In 2008 John Part became PDC world champion for the second time.

He defeated Kick Shepherd 7-2 © ANP

In 2009 Phil Taylor won the title again.

This time he beat Raymond van Barneveld in the final.


In 2010 Phil Taylor became champion again.

He is celebrating his fifteenth title here.

Adrian Lewis celebrates the 2011 title, beating Gary Anderson 7-5.


In 2012 Lewis wins his second title.

He defeated Andy Hamilton 7-3 © ANP

In 2013 Phil Taylor and Michel van Gerwen meet for the first time.

The Briton beats the Dutchman 7-4.


In 2014 Michel van Gerwen can finally call himself world champion, he beats Peter Wright 7-4 © ANP

Gary Anderson joins the top in 2015.

The Scot beats Phil Taylor in the final battle: 7-6.

© Hollandse Hoogte

Anderson continues his title in 2016.

© Getty Images

In 2017 Van Gerwen won for the second time.


Debutant Rob Cross humiliated the waving record champion Phil Taylor in the final of 2018 © ANP

In 2019 Michael van Gerwen beats Michael Smith in the final.


Peter Wright takes his first world title in 2020.


See also: No Dutchmen at last four World Cup darts: this is the program