The Spanish midfielder

Xavi Hernández

has been chosen to be part of the Ballon d'Or for the best team in history, launched by

France Football

and voted for by 140 specialized journalists from around the world.

The full line-up is made up of goalkeeper

Lev Yashin

, center-back

Franz Beckenbauer

, full-




Paolo Maldini

, defensive midfielders

Xavi Hernández


Lothar Matthaus

, attacking midfielders

Diego Maradona




and forwards

Leo Messi


Cristiano Ronaldo


Ronaldo Nazario


Interestingly, Xavi never won the individual Ballon d'Or throughout his career, but he has finally been recognized in this group version that the French publication promoted due to the pandemic, since he refused to award his traditional annual award to the best player in the world .

In fact, the closest the former Spanish player came to winning the award was in 2009, 2010 and 2011, when he finished third in the respective votes.

In all those years the Ballon d'Or went to Leo Messi, his teammate at Barcelona.

Xavi was the only Spaniard in the best all-time eleven, for which his compatriots

Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Sergio Busquets, Pep Guardiola, Xabi Alonso and Luis Suárez

were also nominated

, who remains the only Spaniard who has won the Ballon d'Or individual.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

  • sports

  • soccer

LaLigaThe 'return' of Lemar, the emotion of Simeone and the push of Carrasco: "Luck also counts"

PremierThe bad week of Liverpool, the anger of Kloop already beaten by City

LaLiga Fortune smiles on a good Atlético in Mestalla

See links of interest

  • Last minute

  • Spanish translator

  • Programming

  • Work calendar

  • Movies Today

  • Topics

  • Coronavirus Spain

  • Bayer 04 Leverkusen - TSG Hoffenheim

  • Genoa - Juventus

  • Las Palmas - Alcorcón

  • Elche - Granada CF

  • Barcelona - Levante, live