No Dutchmen have been elected to the best team of all time by the French magazine

France Football


Brazilian Ronaldo received more votes from the 140 journalists than football legend Johan Cruijff in the election for the best center forward ever.

Dennis Bergkamp and Marco van Basten also had to recognize their superior in Ronaldo.

The former PSV player, who shot Brazil to the world title in 2002, was also preferred over Portuguese legend Eusébio and German Gerd Müller.

A total of twelve Dutch people were nominated: Edwin van der Sar, Wim Suurbier, Ronald Koeman, Ruud Krol, Johan Neeskens, Frank Rijkaard, Clarence Seedorf, Ruud Gullit, Arjen Robben and thus Cruijff, Van Basten and Bergkamp.

In the team, Ronaldo is flanked by Lionel Messi (right winger) and Cristiano Ronaldo (left winger).

The two football icons of FC Barcelona and Juventus are the only active footballers included in the team.

Diego Maradona, who died of cardiac arrest last month, got a place in midfield in the greatest team of all time.

(Photo: ANP)

In midfield place for Maradona

In midfield there is room for Xavi, Lothar Matthäus, Pelé and Diego Maradona.

The latter died last month at the age of 60 after a cardiac arrest at his home in Tigre, a suburb of Buenos Aires.

Argentina announced three days of national mourning to commemorate the dribbler.

The defense consists of Cafu, Franz Beckenbauer and Paolo Maldini.

The goalkeeper is the legendary Lev Yashin, who created a stir in the fifties and sixties as the goalkeeper of the Soviet Union.

The annual prize for best goalkeeper is also named after Yashin.

The election of the best team ever is an alternative to the Golden Ball election, which

France Football

normally organizes.

The French magazine believes that due to the corona crisis, no representative picture of the best football players of 2020 can be sketched and therefore decided not to award a Golden Ball this year.

Best team of all time France Football

  • Goalkeeper: Yashin

  • Defense: Cafu, Beckenbauer, Maldini

  • Midfield: Xavi, Matthäus, Pelé, Maradona

  • Attack: Messi, Ronaldo, Cristiano Ronaldo