Lee Westwood wins 'Race to Dubai' title

Mansour bin Mohammed crowns Fitzpatrick as "DP World Golf" champion

  • Mansour bin Mohammed witnessed the coronation of the English player Matthew Fitzpatrick.

    Emirates today

  • Mansour bin Mohammed while attending the coronation of Lee Westwood "Race to Dubai"

    Emirates today


His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Chairman of the Dubai Sports Council, crowned the English player Matthew Fitzpatrick with the title of the 12th edition of the Dubai Ports World Golf Tournament, which was held under the patronage of His Highness on the "Land" course in Jumeirah Golf Estates, and is the final tournament of the tour season. European Golf and "The Race to Dubai", with prize money of eight million dollars.

His Highness Sheikh Mansour bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum crowned the player Fitzpatrick, ranked 22 in the world, at the end of the competitions yesterday, in which he achieved 15 strikes below the average, taking advantage of his scoring four strikes below average in the last round, to receive the prize of three million dollars For the title of the DP World Tour Championship, the largest prize money for a champion in golf tournaments worldwide.

This is the second time that Fitzpatrick has won the championship after 2016, which is his sixth in 141 tournaments in which he participated in the European Tour.

The English runner-up, Lee Westwood, with 14 strikes below the average, won the title of "Race to Dubai" for the European Tour season, to win a prize of one million and 350 thousand dollars, of $ 850 thousand for the runner-up in the tournament, and an additional half million to win the "race." To Dubai".

The American Patrick Reed was the biggest loser in the tournament, after he gave up the top of the standings and retreated to third place, after he finished with 13 strikes below the average, to settle for third place in the "Race to Dubai" ranking, even though he entered the competitions at the top of the general standings.

The coronation ceremony was attended by the Secretary General of Dubai Sports Council, Saeed Hareb, the Executive Director for Commercial Affairs at DP World - UAE Region, Abdullah bin Demethan, the Executive Director, Director General of DP World - UAE Region, Mohammed Al Muallem, and Assistant Secretary General of the Dubai Sports Council , Nasser Al Rahma, and Keith Bailey, CEO of the European Tour.

British Matthew Fitzpatrick expressed his happiness at achieving the Dubai championship title, for the second time in his career, and said in press statements after the coronation ceremony: “DP World has always represented the most important tournament in the season’s championships agenda, and seeks to hijack its title for all international golfers, not because it is The final round not only, but because participation is limited to the top 60 players in the season (The Race to Dubai) ».

He added: “The (DP World) Championship was a testament to my entry into the world of stardom in 2016, to succeed after five years of absence in regaining this title, and I look forward to returning next year to defend my title with the ambition of collecting the double by winning its title, in addition to winning the title of champion of the season."

The Golden Record for the Championship «DP World Golf»

2009: Lee Westwood of England

2010: Swede Robert Carlson.

2011: Spain's Alvaro Queiroz.

2012: Rory McIlroy.

2013: Henrik Stinson from Sweden.

2014: Henrik Stinson from Sweden.

2015: Rory McIlroy.

2016: British Matthew Fitzpatrick.

2017: John Ram, Spaniard.

2018: Danny Willett, England.

2019: John Ram, Spaniard.

2020: Briton Matthew Fitzpatrick.

The Golden Record for "The Race to Dubai"

2009: Lee Westwood of England

2010: Martin Kaymer of Germany.

2011: Luke Donald, England.

2012: Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy.

2013: Henrik Stinson from Sweden.

2014: Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy.

2015: Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy.

2016: Swede Henrik Stinson.

2017: Tommy Fleetwood of England.

2018: Italian Francesco Molinari.

2019: John Ram, Spaniard.

2020: British Lee Westwood.

Follow our latest local and sports news, and the latest political and economic developments via Google news