Mathieu van der Poel and Anna van der Breggen were nominated on Monday for the Vélo d'Or, which will be awarded to the best rider of the past season.

There are a total of fifteen riders on the list.

In addition to the two Dutchmen, Wout van Aert, Julian Alaphilippe, Sam Bennett, Remco Evenepoel, Caleb Ewan, Pauline Ferrand-Prévot, Jakob Fuglsang, Filippo Ganna, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Marc Hirschi, Daniel Felipe Martínez, Tadej Pogacar and Primoz Roglic on the Vélo d'Or.

Van der Poel owes his nomination to his victory in the Tour of Flanders last month.

After a spectacular battle, the 25-year-old from Brabant settled in a very exciting sprint-`à-deux with his eternal rival Van Aert.

Van der Breggen had a top year.

The thirty-year-old from Overijssel, who will end her career after next season and then continues as a sports director, won both the world title on the road and in the time trial at the World Championships in Imola in September.

The Vélo d'Or is an initiative of the French

Vélo Magazine

and has been awarded since 1992. Twenty journalists from different countries will vote.

The winner will be announced later this year.

Last year the prize went to Alaphilippe.

Never before has a Dutchman won the Vélo d'Or.

In 2017, Tom Dumoulin, who took the overall victory in the Giro d'Italia that year, became second behind Chris Froome.

Erik Dekker finished third in 2001.

The prize has also never been awarded to a woman.