With his third place in the Giro d'Italia, Wilco Kelderman can call himself the twelfth Dutchman ever on the podium in a grand tour.

Moreover, the Sunweb rider is only the third Dutchman to be among the best three in the Giro.

Only Erik Breukink (who came second in the Giro of 1988 and third in the edition of a year later) and Tom Dumoulin - he won the Giro in 2017 and was second a year later - led Kelderman with a podium place in Italy.

We have to go back 74 years for the first Dutchman on the podium in a grand tour.

In 1946 it was Jan Lambrichs who secured third place in the classification in the Vuelta a España.

Since then, Jan Janssen, Rini Wagtmans, Joop Zoetemelk, Hennie Kuiper, Johan van der Velde, Peter Winnen, Breukink, Bauke Mollema, Dumoulin and Steven Kruijswijk have also appeared at least once on the honorary podium.

The 73-year-old Zoetemelk is by far the Dutchman with the most podium places.

He won the 1979 Vuelta, was the best in the Tour de France a year later and finished second in the same race six times.

Together with Janssen (the 1967 Vuelta winner and the 1968 Tour winner) and Dumoulin, he is the only one to win a grand tour.

Kelderman, who drove his first major round in 2013 and had a lot of bad luck in his career, was already close to his first podium place three years ago.

At the time, he finished fourth in the Vuelta.

In this year's Giro, he rode for two days in the leader's jersey, which he lost on Saturday.

Dutch podium places in grand tour

  • Joop Zoetemelk - 8

  • Jan Janssen - 3

  • Erik Breukink - 3

  • Tom Dumoulin - 3

  • Hennie Kuiper - 2

  • Jan Lambrichs - 1

  • Rini Wagtmans - 1

  • Johan van der Velde - 1

  • Peter Winnen - 1

  • Bauke Mollema - 1

  • Steven Kruijswijk - 1

  • Wilco Kelderman - 1

See also: View the final rankings of the Giro d'Italia