Kristina Mladenovic was released at Roland Garros after her incredible defeat against the German Laura Siegemund in straight sets (7-5, 5-1).
The Frenchwoman led 5-1 in the first set, before losing her footing completely following a huge refereeing error.
New disillusionment for French tennis.
Like Gaël Monfils the day before, Kristina Mladenovic was eliminated in the first round of Roland Garros, following her defeat on Tuesday against the German Laura Siegemund (7-5, 6-3).
The Frenchwoman has long been in the lead, leading 5-1 in the first set.
But "Kiki" came out of her game completely after a gross refereeing error that wrongly prevented her from winning the first set.
Kristina Mladenovic loses the point after the ball had doubled!
On slow motion, it seems obvious but the referee gives the point to Laura Siegemund #RolandGarros
▶ Follow the match live: https://t.co/9UF1aTHtxwpic.twitter.com/qRh17fyXqj
- France tv sport (@francetvsport) September 29, 2020
Mladenovic (66th in the world) then lost six consecutive games, to finally lose 7-5 in just under an hour and 20 minutes of play. Laura Siegemund (44th in the world) then continued her momentum to win the second set ( 6-3) and the match in just over two hours.