Toyota Gazoo Racing won the 88th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans on Sunday.

Drivers Sébastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley and Kazuki Nakajima gave the Japanese team its third victory in a row in the LMP1 class.

Racing Team Netherlands disappointed in the LMP2 class and finished fifteenth.

Toyota Gazoo Racing was the favorite beforehand and lived up to that role.

The Swiss Buemi, the New Zealander Hartley and the Japanese Nakajima, all three of whom have a history in Formula 1, together completed 387 laps.

For Buemi and Nakajima it was the third title in a row.

They won the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2018 and 2019 with Fernando Alonso, who will be back in Formula 1 next year.

At the Circuit de la Sarthe, the Rebellion Racing teams finished second and fourth behind Toyota Gazoo Racing, ahead of the other Toyota formation that finished third.

The car of Racing Team Netherlands.

(Photo: Getty Images)

Racing Team Netherlands is disappointing in the race

Racing Team Netherlands, with Nyck de Vries, Giedo van der Garde and Frits van Eerd, started third in the 24 Hours of Le Mans in the LMP2 class after qualifying, but disappointed during the race.

The team had problems with the cooling early in the game and in the night from Saturday to Sunday, De Vries ended up in the gravel pit after a collision with another car.

That took the Dutch formation a lot of time.

Racing Team Netherlands therefore finished in a disappointing fifteenth place in the LMP2 class and nineteenth in the overall ranking.

Beitske Visser was the best Dutchman.

The Frisian, who rides for the French Richard Mille, finished ninth in the LMP2 class together with the German Sophia Flörsch and the Colombian Tatiana Calderón.

Ho-Pin Tung and his team Jackie Chan Racing were disqualified because a mechanic was working on the car against the rules.

The 24 hours of Le Mans should have already taken place in June, but was postponed due to the corona crisis.