Simon Yates won the final classification of the Tirreno-Adriatico on Monday.

The Briton finished eighteenth in the final time trial, which was won by Filippo Ganna.

Ganna needed 10 minutes and 42 seconds for the time trial of 10.1 kilometers.

The Italian of INEOS Grenadiers was well ahead of recognized specialists such as Victor Campenaerts (+0.18) and world champion Rohan Dennis (+0.26).

Yates set the eighteenth fastest time 50 seconds behind the winner.

The Mitchelton-SCOTT rider was 17 seconds ahead of fellow countryman Geraint Thomas in the final classification.

The Pole Rafal Majka was third and Wilco Kelderman is the best Dutchman in the final classification in fourth place.

In the time trial, Kelderman came no further than fifteenth place.

Jos van Emden was the best Dutchman with a seventh place, 39 seconds behind Ganna, and Mathieu van der Poel was fourteenth.

On Sunday Van der Poel wrote the penultimate stage to his name.

The Dutch champion decided today to refrain from participating in the World Cycling Championships.

Yates succeeds Roglic

Yates seized power in the fifth of eight stages.

He then won a mountain stage and took the lead in the standings from Michael Woods.

As the winner of the Tirreno, Yates succeeds Primoz Roglic, who narrowly beat Yates' twin brother Adam last year.

Roglic is currently wearing the yellow jersey in the Tour de France.

The Italian stage race is normally held in March in preparation for the Giro d'Italia.