Luuk de Jong reached the semi-finals of the Europa League with Sevilla on Tuesday evening. The Spaniards only took care of Wolverhampton Wanderers in the final phase: 1-0. Shakhtar Donetsk also joined the last four by beating FC Basel 4-1.

Wolverhampton started as an underdog with Sevilla, but should have taken the lead after more than ten minutes. Raúl Jiménez was allowed a penalty after a foul on the outbreak Adama Traoré, but the Mexican's weak effort was simply turned by goalkeeper Yassine Bono.

The chances in the match were also scarce, but Sevilla insisted more and more and was paid for work in the final phase. Éver Banega, who was already close to the opening goal with a free kick in the 77th minute, gave a cross to Lucas Ocampos two minutes before the end and he headed nicely in the far corner.

Sevilla thus remains in the race to win the Europa League for the fourth time this century. The Spanish subtopper won the second most important club tournament in 2014, 2015 and 2016. In 2006 and 2007, the UEFA Cup was already captured.

For a place in the final battle, Seville awaits a showdown with Manchester United. 'The Red Devils' only settled with FC Copenhagen on Monday evening after an extension.