Arnaud Démare has won the 101st edition of Milan-Turin on Wednesday. The Frenchman of Groupama-FDJ was the strongest in the mass sprint after 198 kilometers.

The Italian Manuele Boaro was the last of a leading group of six riders and was caught 6 kilometers from the finish by the peloton. Shortly before that, the peloton was startled by a crash. Yves Lampaert, among others, was involved and the Belgian remained on the ground with a painful face.

In the sprint Démare turned out to have the best legs. He was ahead of Australian Caleb Ewan (second) and Jumbo-Visma rider Wout van Aert (third).

Mathieu van der Poel was also present, but he decided not to compete to help victory and Sacha Modolo, his teammate at Alpecin-Fenix.

Milan-Turin had a slightly different course than in previous years. The organization decided to remove the Superga from the track, increasing the chances for the sprinters.

Milan-Turin is the oldest cycling race in the world. The first edition was held in 1876. Last year, the win in the Italian semi-classic went to Michael Woods, but he did not participate this year. The Canadian is preparing for Milan-San Remo, which is scheduled for Saturday.

Play along with the Tour game! For the app users: tap here.