Remco Evenepoel has won the Tour of Burgos on Saturday. The Belgian top talent did not relinquish his leading position in the general classification in the last stage.

Twenty-year-old Evenepoel finished third in the final stage, which took the peloton over 158 kilometers from Covarrubias to Lagunas de Neila. He conceded eleven seconds on Iván Sosa, who came first on the final climb of the highest category.

Sosa jumped away in the last kilometer from Mikel Landa and Evenepoel, who tried to attack just before. The Colombian was no longer obsolete and kept number two Landa behind for nine seconds.

In the past two years, Sosa also won the final stage to Lagunas de Neila. Then the rider of Team INEOS also took the overall victory in the Tour of Burgos. This time, he failed to compete in the rankings and finished well outside the top ten.

In that final classification Evenepoel number two Landa was half a minute ahead. João Almeida, who finished fourth in the final stage, finished third in just over a minute. Richard Carapaz, last year's winner of the Giro d'Italia, had to settle for sixth place.

For Evenepoel it is his third overall victory of this season. At the beginning of this year, the Deceuninck-Quick-Step rider was the strongest in both the Tour of San Juan and the Tour of the Algarve.

See also: The new 2020 cycling calendar for men and women

Play along with the NUsport Tour game! For the app users: tap here.