Novak Djokovic qualified for the semifinals of the ATP Cup with Serbia on Friday. The seventeen-time Grand Slam winner won the decisive point against Canada.

Djokovic fought as the world's number two along Denis Shapovalov, the global number fourteen. It became 4-6, 6-1 and 7-6 (4).

Djokovic's compatriot Dusan Lajovic had previously won against Felix Auger-Aliassime (6-4 and 6-2). The double play, which was also won by Serbia, was then for the statistics.

In the semi-finals of the ATP Cup, Serbia faces Russia, which has already reached the last four. In the other semi-final, Australia faces Spain - which will play with Rafael Nadal - or Belgium.

The ATP Cup is a new country tournament with 24 teams. The Switzerland of Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka does not participate, just like the Netherlands, which did not qualify.

The tennis players are working towards the Australian Open in Australia, which starts on January 20. The qualifications for the first Grand Slam tournament of the year are scheduled for next week.