Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

CAF unveils list of 30 nominated for African football trophies


The players selected for the men's and women's trophies of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) 2019 were announced Sunday. Three Ligue 1 players are on the list.

Who will succeed Mohamed Salah? The Confederation of African Football has revealed Sunday, November 24, the list of 30 players named to win the title of the best player on the continent. The Egyptian, winner of the African Player of the Year Award in 2017 and 2018, is again on the list of shortlisted.

Three Ligue 1 players are also on the list: Idrissa Gueye (PSG), Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (PSG) and Victor Osimhen (Lille).

Algeria, which won the 2019 African Cup of Nations, is widely represented with four players: Baghdad Bounedjah, Ismail Bennacer, Riyad Mahrez and Youcef Belaili.

Your African Player of the Year Nominees 🌍🏅

Who will win the prestigious award? 🏆 # CAFAwards2019

- CAF (@CAF_Online) November 24, 2019

On the ladies' side, seven women footballers who played in the 2019 Women's World Cup are on the list of shortlisted women. South African Thembi Kgatlana, winner last year, is also named.

1⃣🏆 @ FCBfemeni, @acmilan and @PFCCSKA_en represented in the # CAFAwards2019 Women Player of the Year Category 👇

- CAF (@CAF_Online) November 24, 2019

The awards ceremony will take place on January 7th in the Egyptian resort of Hurghada.

Find the complete list:

List of players selected for the Player of the Year Award

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, Borussia Dortmund)

André Onana (Cameroon, Ajax)

Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria, Al-Sadd)

Carolus Andriamatsinoro (Madagascar, Al Adalah)

Denis Onyango (Uganda, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting (Cameroon, Paris Saint-Germain)

Ferjani Sassi (Tunisia, Zamalek)

Hakim Ziyech (Morocco, Ajax)

Idrissa Gueye (Senegal, Paris Saint-Germain)

Ismail Bennacer (Algeria, AC Milan)

Jordan Ayew (Ghana, Crystal Palace)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, Napoli)

Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Togo, Al Ain)

Mahmoud Hassan "Trezeguet" (Egypt, Aston Villa)

Mbwana Samatta (Tanzania, Genk)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Moussa Marega (Mali, Porto)

Naby Keïta (Guinea, Liverpool)

Nicolas Pépé (Ivory Coast, Arsenal)

Odion Ighalo (Nigeria, Shanghai Shenhua)

Percy Tau (South Africa, Club Bruges)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Arsenal)

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Manchester City)

Sadio Mané (Senegal, Liverpool)

Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia, Esperance)

Thomas Partey (Ghana, Atlético Madrid)

Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Lille)

Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria, Leicester City)

Wilfried Zaha (Ivory Coast, Crystal Palace)

Youcef Belaili (Algeria, Ahli Jeddah).

List of nominees for the Player of the Year Award

Ajara Nchout (Cameroon, Valerenga)

Angel N'Guessan (Ivory Coast, Tenerife)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Rivers Angels)

Elizabeth Addo (Ghana, Jiangsu Suning)

Gabrielle Ouguene (Cameroon, CSKA Moscow)

Refiloe Jane (South Africa, AC Milan)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi, Jiangsu Suning)

Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Beijing Phoenix FC)

Uchenna Kanu (Nigeria, Southeastern Fire).

Source: france24

You may like

Trends 24h


sports 2020/01/28    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy