Sifan Hassan has not been voted European Athlete of the Year. On Saturday she saw the award go to the Russian high jump star Mariya Lasitskene at the gala in the Estonian capital Tallinn.

Hassan was among the last four nominees. In addition to the Dutch and Russian high jump world champions, Dina Asher-Smith (world champion in 200 meters and silver in 100 meters) and Malaika Mihambo (world champion long jump) were also on the list.

The 26-year-old Hassan has had a very strong season, in which she took historic gold at the World Cup in Doha at the 1,500 meters and 10,000 meters. She also won the 1,500 meters and 5,000 meters in the Diamond League.

The prize for the best European athlete of the year has been awarded annually since 1993. Dafne Schippers is the only Dutch on the honors list. She won the prestigious prize in 2014 and 2015.

Hassan is still in the race for the title world athlete of the year. The trophy will be presented on November 23 at the gala of the international athletics federation IAAF in Monaco.