Vuelta a España winner Primoz Roglic was included on Tuesday in the Slovenian team for the World Cycling Championships later this month. Earlier in the day, top riders Egan Bernal and Vincenzo Nibali announced that they would let the event go.

29-year-old Roglic - he gave Jumbo-Visma the first victory in a big round on Sunday - is teammate of Tadej Pogacar, the number three of the Vuelta, among others. Matej Mohoric, Grega Bole, Jan Tratnik, Luka Pibernik (all Bahrain-Merida), Jan Polanc (UAE Team Emirates) and David Per (Adria Mobil) have also been selected.

Roglic has an excellent season. In addition to his Vuelta victory, he finished third in the Giro d'Italia, was the best in the Tour of the United Arab Emirates, the Tour of Romandia and Tirreno-Adriatico. He also won a number of stages.

Tour de France winner Bernal was still included in the selection for Colombia on Sunday, but is now dropping out. Movistar rider Carlos Betancur takes the place of the 22-year-old climber of Team INEOS.

The team also consists of Nairo Quintana (Movistar), Álvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates), Esteban Chaves (Mitchelton-SCOTT), Daniel Martínez (EF Education First), Sebastián Molano (UAE Team Emirates) and Sebastián Henao (Team INEOS).


Van der Poel understands World Cup favorite role: "Also satisfied if I don't win"

Nibali makes position available, Kwiatkowski is also missing

The Italian team is not yet known, but Nibali will certainly be missing. The four-time winner of a big round, who had a disappointing Tour de France this year after finishing second in the Giro d'Italia, is not feeling well enough.

"The blue shirt of Italy is sacred and must be respected. I am not one of the best at the moment and it is not fair to take someone else's place," he told La Gazzetta dello Sport .

Poland cannot rely on Team INEOS rider Michal Kwiatkowski. The 2014 world champion writes on Twitter that he needs a real break after the Tour de France.

Mathieu van der Poel is the eye-catcher for the Dutch team. He is supported by Niki Terpstra, Bauke Mollema, Dylan van Baarle, Mike Teunissen, Sebastian Langeveld, Jos van Emden and Pieter Weening.

The men's road race will be held next Sunday. The peloton travels a hilly course over 284 kilometers. Alejandro Valverde is the defending champion in Yorkshire.