Vincent Kompany will not play in his own farewell match at Manchester City on Wednesday evening. The 33-year-old Belgian, who left the 'Citizens' this summer after eleven years, suffers from a slight injury.

"Unfortunately, I am struggling with a small hamstring injury. I cannot take any risks, so I will not start or play tonight," Kompany said at a press conference on Wednesday afternoon. "But saying goodbye is also possible next to the field."

The defender, currently a player-trainer at Anderlecht, regularly suffered injuries in his eleven years at City. "The fact that I cannot play in my testimonial is actually irony," said the former captain of City. "But I've been important to City, that's all that matters to me."

In the summer of 2008, Kompany went from Hamburger SV to Manchester City for 8.5 million euros. He came to England in 360 games and twenty goals and won the national title four times, twice the FA Cup, four times the League Cup and twice the Community Shield (the English supercup).

In England it is common for a football player to get a farewell game - a so-called testimonial - if he has played for a club for ten years and has been of great value.

In the Kompany testimonial, a team of Manchester City legends play against a team of Premier League legends. With Nigel de Jong, Edwin van der Sar, Rafael van der Vaart and Robin van Persie, four Dutchmen have received an invitation for the game that starts on Wednesday at 8.45 PM.

Teams for farewell match Kompany

Manchester City Legends
Manager: Josep Guardiola
Keepers : Joe Hart, Costel Pantilimon
Defenders : Vincent Kompany, Aleksandr Kolarov, Joleon Lescott, Micah Richards, Kolo Touré, Pablo Zabaleta, Richard Dunne, Gaël Clichy
Midfielders : Nigel de Jong, Samir Nasri, Shaun Wright-Phillips, Stephen Ireland, David Silva, Dietmar Hamann, James Milner
Forwarders : Craig Bellamy, Sergio Agüero, Edin Dzeko, Mario Balotelli, Benjani

Premier League All-Stars
Manager : Roberto Martinez
Keepers : Edwin van der Sar, Shay Given
Defenders : Phil Neville, Gary Neville, John O'Shea, Wes Brown
Midfielders : Paul Scholes, Nicky Butt, Michael Carrick, Ryan Giggs, Rafael van der Vaart, Cesc Fàbregas
Attackers : Thierry Henry, Robin van Persie