On Monday, Mathieu van der Poel won the Turn of the Kaai cycling criterion in Roosendaal.

The former Dutch champion on the road escaped from a leading group of six riders in the final phase of the criterion. Dylan Groenewegen finished second, just before Moreno Hofland.

The game started with a minute of silence, in memory of Bjorg Lambrecht. The 22-year-old Belgian died on Monday after a fall in the third stage of the Tour of Poland.

Caleb Ewan and Jasper de Buyst, teammates from Lambrecht at Lotto Soudal, didn't start in Roosendaal.

For the women, the victory went to Lucinda Brand. Annemiek van Vleuten became second, ahead of Thalita de Jong