Hong Kong, 5 May (ZXS) -- The Run Run Run Shaw Prize Foundation held a press conference in Hong Kong on 30 May to announce the list of winners of the 30th "Run Run Shaw Prize," and seven scientists, including the famous mathematician Chengtong Yau, won the award.

The "Run Run Shaw Award" is an international award established in accordance with the wishes of the late Hong Kong film and television tycoon Run Run Shaw, established in November 2002, managed and implemented by the Shaw Prize Foundation, and presented once a year in three categories: astronomy, life sciences and medicine, and mathematical sciences. Each prize is $11.120 million to recognize outstanding scientists.

Yang Gangkai, chairman of the Shaw Prize Council, said at the press conference that the "Run Run Shaw Award" was first awarded in 2004, and this year is exactly 20 years. After all the special arrangements under the epidemic in the past three years, I am very happy to be able to return to normal this year. He said that the "Run Run Shaw Prize" is an international award to recognize scientists who have achieved breakthrough achievements in academic and scientific research or application, and that the results have had a profound impact on human life, regardless of race, nationality, gender and religious belief. The winners of the "Run Run Run Shaw Prize" are internationally renowned scholars and scientists.

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy was awarded to Matthew Bailes, Director of the Australian Research Council's Centre of Excellence for Gravitational Wave Discovery, Duncan Lorimer, Professor and Interim Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at West Virginia University and Associate Dean of Research at the Ebley College of Arts and Sciences, and Maura McLaughlin, the Eberley Family Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy at West Virginia University McLaughlin) in recognition of their discovery of rapid airwave bursts.

The Life Science and Medicine Prize was awarded equally to Patrick Cramer, Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology at the Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Science, Germany and President-elect of the Max Planck Society, and Eva Nogales, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology in the Department of Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of California, Berkeley, for their groundbreaking structural biology research.

The Mathematical Sciences Prize is awarded equally to Vladimir Drinfeld, Harry Pratt Judson Distinguished Service Mathematics Professor of the University of Chicago, and Chengtong Yau, Director of the Center for Mathematical Sciences at Tsinghua University, for their contributions to mathematical physics, arithmetic geometry, differential geometry, and Keller geometry. (End)