The assassination of the leader of Saraya al-Quds (the military wing of the Islamic Jihad Movement), Taysir al-Jabari, was only a link in a series of assassinations spanning over the years pursued by the Israeli occupation. The following are its most prominent stations during the past two decades:

  •  August 27, 2001 The assassination of the Secretary-General of the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine, Abu Ali Mustafa, with two missiles fired by Israel at his office in Ramallah in the West Bank.

  • July 23, 2002 Israel assassinates Salah Shehadeh, founder of the Al-Qassam Brigades, the military wing of the Islamic Resistance Movement (Hamas).

  • March 22, 2004 The occupation forces assassinate the founder of Hamas in Gaza, Sheikh Ahmed Yassin.

  • April 16, 2004 The Israeli occupation assassinates a prominent Hamas leader in Gaza, Dr. Abdel Aziz Rantisi.

  • On January 1, 2009, at the beginning of the first Israeli war on the Gaza Strip, the occupation assassinated the military and political leader of Hamas, Nizar Rayan.

  • January 15, 2009 During the first Israeli war on Gaza, the occupation assassinates the Minister of Interior in the Hamas government, Saeed Siam.

  • November 14, 2012 Israel assassinates Ahmed al-Jabari, the deputy commander-in-chief of the Qassam Brigades, which led to the outbreak of an 8-day war in which 20 Israelis were killed and 162 Palestinians were martyred.

  • November 12, 2019 Israel assassinates Baha Abu al-Atta, commander of the northern region of the Al-Quds Brigades, the military arm of the Islamic Jihad movement, and the movement responded by firing about 450 missiles at Israeli targets within two days, causing paralysis in the facilities of life in Israel, which led to losses equivalent to one billion and 150 million dollars.

  • August 5, 2022 Israel assassinates a military commander in the Al-Quds Brigades, Taysir Al-Jabari - who succeeded Abu Atta in the Northern Command - by bombing a residential tower in Gaza.