The "Rugby Africa Cup 2022", organized in the form of knockout matches, will see Namibia, 24th nation in the world and big favorite of the event, face off against Kenya, Uganda, Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire , Burkina Faso, Zimbabwe and Algeria.

At the end of this competition, its winner, known as "Africa 1", will be placed in pool A of the World Cup-2023 (September 8 - October 21) alongside New Zealand, triple world champion, France, country -host, Italy and Uruguay.

In the quarter-finals on July 1 at the Pierre-Delort stadium in Marseille, Namibia, which has participated six times in the World Cup (1999, 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2019), will face Burkina Faso, 91st nation in the world.

The other match will oppose Zimbabwe to Côte d'Ivoire.

These two teams have already played in a World Cup, but not in the professional era: Zimbabwe in 1987 and 1991 and Côte d'Ivoire in 1995.

The following day, at Maurice-David in Aix, Senegal will play against Algeria and Uganda will face Kenya.

None of these four teams has ever participated in the World Cup.

On July 6, the two winners of the quarterfinals in Marseille will face each other in the semi-finals in Aix-en-Provence, while the victorious teams of the quarterfinals from Aix will travel to Marseille.

Finally, the Maurice-David stadium will host the final on July 10.

The Africa Rugby Cup program:



On July 1, in Marseille:

(6:00 p.m.) Namibia - Burkina Faso

(21h00) Zimbabwe - Ivory Coast

On July 2, in Aix-en-Provence:

(15:00) Uganda - Kenya

(6:00 p.m.) Senegal - Algeria



July 6:

(6:00 p.m.) Uganda or Kenya - Senegal or Algeria, in Marseille

(9 p.m.) Namibia or Burkina Faso - Zimbabwe or Ivory Coast, in Aix-en-Provence



July 10 (9 p.m.) in Aix-en-Provence

© 2022 AFP