The Argentinian pays criticism for the lack of spectacle offered by his team, as well as the disappointing results in the Champions League and the Coupe de France.

He becomes the first champion technician not to appear on the "short list" since Alain Perrin, crowned with Lyon, in 2008, according to The chain L'Equipe, co-broadcaster of the UNFP trophies.

Christophe Galtier (Nice) is in the running to win the honorary title of best coach for the third time in a row.

He was crowned in 2019 and 2021 on the Lille bench.

Nice coach Christophe Galtier, during the match of the 25th day of Ligue 1 at home against Angers, on February 20, 2022 at the Allianz Riviera Valery HACHE AFP / Archives

No awards were presented in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic having brought the season to an abrupt end

The star of the ceremony, with red carpet and evening dress, should be Kylian Mbappé, who, like Galtier, is aiming for the hat-trick.

Both top scorer (22) and passer (15) in the current year, "Kyky" is a big favorite to be named player of the year, as in the last two editions.

The joy of PSG striker Kylian Mbappé, after his goal scored against Rennes, during the 24th day of Ligue 1, February 11, 2022 at the Parc des Princes JULIEN DE ROSA AFP / Archives

His competitors are Wissam Ben Yedder (Monaco), Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Martin Terrier (Rennes) and Lucas Paqueta (Lyon).

Parisian superstars Lionel Messi and Neymar, whose seasons have been cut short by injuries, do not appear in the list.

The trophy presentation evening is scheduled for Sunday May 15, the day after the 37th and penultimate day of Ligue 1.

The nominees in each category were determined by the vote of their peers.

List of nominees for the main categories:

Best L1 player: Wissam Ben Yedder (Monaco), Kylian Mbappé (Paris SG), Dimitri Payet (Marseille), Martin Terrier (Rennes), Lucas Paqueta (Lyon)

Best L1 goalkeeper: Walter Benitez (Nice), Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), Alban Lafont (Nantes), Pau Lopez (Marseille), Mats Sels (Strasbourg)

Best L1 coach: Christophe Galtier (Nice), Bruno Genesio (Rennes), Antoine Kombouaré (Nantes), Julien Stéphan (Strasbourg), Jorge Sampaoli (Marseille)

Best L1 Hope: Arnaud Kalimuendo (Lens), Castello Lukeba (Lyon), Nuno Mendes (PSG), William Saliba (Marseille), Képhren Thuram (Nice)

Best L2 player: Gaëtan Charbonnier (Auxerre), Rhys Healey (Toulouse), Gauthier Hein (Auxerre), Youssouf M'Changama (Guingamp), Branco Van den Boomen (Toulouse)

Best female D1 player: Kadidiatou Diani (PSG), Grace Geyoro (PSG), Marie-Antoinette Katoto (PSG), Catarina Macario (Lyon), Clara Matéo (Paris FC)

© 2022 AFP