As noted, the restrictions were adopted "to slow the spread of the omicron variant in the United States and to allow the United States to take appropriate action in light of new information about this variety."

The statement states that at midnight on December 31, restrictive measures on entry into the United States from eight African countries will be lifted.

Since November 29, the US authorities have restricted entry to the country for residents of eight African countries due to the omicron strain of the COVID-19 coronavirus infection.

The restrictions affected residents of South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.