Several European countries, including France, were placed on the red list by Israel on Sunday, which banned its fellow citizens from going there to prevent the spread of the Omicron variant of the coronavirus.

These restrictions on travel abroad, which already affected most African countries as well as Great Britain and Denmark, now also apply to Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Norway, Sweden and also the United Arab Emirates.

About forty on their return

The Israeli Ministry of Health also recommended adding to this red list the United States, despite the hundreds of thousands of dual nationals, as well as Germany, Belgium, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal. , Switzerland and Turkey. This proposal has yet to be validated by the government. Prime Minister Naftali Bennett has defended these travel restrictions, which he says are necessary to avoid resorting to new lockdowns.

" Hurry up.

European countries have either established containments or are preparing to do so, ”he said on Sunday before a Council of Ministers.

Travelers from countries placed on the red list are prohibited from entering Israel, with some exceptions.

Israeli citizens and residents in a newly redlisted country will be required to observe a one-week quarantine upon their return.

More than 440 cases of the Omicron variant have already been detected in Israel, a month after its identification in South Africa.


Coronavirus in Israel: Vaccination launched for 5-year-olds


Coronavirus in Israel: A case of the Delta subvariant identified in a child who came from abroad

  • Omicron variant

  • epidemic

  • Video

  • World

  • Coronavirus

  • Covid 19

  • Israel

  • 0 comment

  • 0 share

    • Share on Messenger

    • Share on Facebook

    • Share on twitter

    • Share on Flipboard

    • Share on Pinterest

    • Share on Linkedin

    • Send by Mail

  • To safeguard

  • A fault ?

  • To print