“Considering the emergence of a new variant of the omicron coronavirus infection strain, in order to prevent its import into the republic, the interdepartmental commission decided to introduce the following restrictive measures from December 3: to restrict the entry into the Republic of Kazakhstan of foreign citizens from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Madagascar, Eswatini, Malawi, Tanzania and Hong Kong, ”RIA Novosti quotes the words of the country's first deputy minister of health, Marat Shoranov.

It is also proposed to introduce the presence of a mandatory PCR test, regardless of the vaccination status, for persons arriving from countries where cases of the new strain have been identified.

Persons arriving from countries where cases of coronavirus caused by the omicron strain have been detected, regardless of the results of the PCR test, are subject to self-isolation for seven days.

In addition, the operational headquarters proposed to limit air traffic with Egypt.

Earlier, Kazakhstan announced a decrease in the incidence of coronavirus.