New York State, USA, declared a state of emergency on the 27th local time in preparation for the possibility of the spread of the novel coronavirus infection, Omicron mutation.

New York is the first state in the United States to declare a state of emergency regarding the omicron mutation that has recently begun to spread in South Africa.

The state of emergency, which takes effect on the 3rd of next month, was declared with the intention of helping hospitals in the state prepare for the possibility of the spread of COVID-19 in the winter due to a new mutation.

The state of emergency will allow hospitals with less than 10% remaining beds or state-designated hospitals to reject non-emergency, non-essential patients.

As a measure to focus medical resources on the treatment of people infected with COVID-19, it will be implemented by at least January 15 next year.

New York Governor Kathy Hocal said: "We continue to see warning signs that the number of infections will rise this winter," the Wall Street Journal reported. .

The U.S. has recommended travel bans to eight African countries, including South Africa, Botswana and Zimbabwe, where Omicron mutations have occurred from the 29th.

Omicron mutations designated as 'mutants of concern' by the World Health Organization are evaluated to be more contagious than other mutated viruses.

Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, the White House's top medical adviser, said on NBC that day, "I wouldn't be surprised if that were the case."

(Photo = Getty Images Korea)