“I signed a new decree banning those who have been in South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Kingdom of Eswatini in the last 14 days,” wrote Speranza on Facebook.

Italian scientists are currently working on a new strain, B.1.1.529, he said.

The UK has temporarily canceled flights with South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Namibia and Eswatini from November 26 due to the discovery of a new strain of coronavirus.

Also, the head of the EU Ursula von der Leyen said that the European Commission will consider the option of suspending flights to South Africa due to a new strain.