The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Maria Ressa, a Filipino-American journalist, and Dmitry Muratov, a Russian journalist, for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression.


The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace. # NobelPrize #NobelPeacePrize / KHeGG9YOTT

- The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 8, 2021

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded since 1901 almost annually.

It rewards "the personality or the community having contributed the most or the best to the rapprochement of peoples, to the suppression or reduction of standing armies, to the reunion and propagation of progress for peace", as Alfred Nobel wanted. in his will.

It is not yet certain whether the health situation allows the winner to go to Oslo to receive his prize.

Consisting of a diploma, a gold medal and a check for 10 million crowns (around one million euros), it is traditionally awarded on December 10, the anniversary of the death of Alfred Nobel (1833-1896). ).

After that of peace, the only Nobel to be awarded in the Norwegian capital, the Nobel season will return to Stockholm for a final bouquet with the economy prize on Monday.


Abdulrazak Gurnah, a novelist with works marked by immigration and colonialism, Nobel Prize for Literature


Two climate experts and a complex systems theorist awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics

  • World

  • Norway

  • Reward

  • Nobel

  • Oslo

  • Nobel Prize of Peace